Review: S.H.Figuarts Nasca Dophant

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

言っただろ。私もこの街を愛してると。

Despite having said that he likes the city of Futo in the end he still died. It was glorious death indeed and thank you for transforming Nazca Dopant from a splendid villain to hero. But still, getting killed by your wife is out of the question.

First Impression

My first impression on Nazca, from the show, is that the coolness of the design captivated me. I remember how much I couldn’t wait for the actor to transform into Nazca and fight. Coolness overloaded!

Quite a pity that Kamen Rider has to follow a bug theme, else, Nazca could have easily made it to the top ten Kamen Riders I idolizes. Oh well, it’s always the usual thing that goes around when it comes to villains versus heroes. Which I just don’t understand why…

How come the villains always look so much cooler?

The Head

The design of the head guard gives me an abstract idea between head armour and an eye guard. It also makes me wonder how Nazca is able to see through it. The “crown” like details is so close to that from the show that I was almost shocked when I tried to feel the plastic – it is very solid and almost indestructible unless you do something stupid to it.

The head is very “rectanglish” and trust me the ratio of the head to the body is perfect. So perfect that I want to cry like for god sake.

The only thing I am unhappy about is probable the painting? I believe mine was not handled properly, or else what could have explained the obvious smudging of the orange paint onto the silver areas. Why is that so??? 😦

The Body

The body is so sexy! Not only is it close to that from the show, the proportion of the body, I believe, has been measured and scaled to a point where it is proportionate to the rest of the parts.

The articulation between the chest area and the waist is very well “hidden” by the detailing. It gives me a very “wholesome” feeling no matter how much I look at it.

The Belt (aka Gaia Driver)

As Kirihiko transformed into Nazca Dopant with the aid of a Gaia Driver, of course, he has a belt around his waist area. The detailing of the belt has different heights and depths, these areas are highlighted with black paint, giving the belt a silhouette of evilness.

I don’t know why but the orange ball in the center reminds me of the inedible decorations on a typical birthday cake. Haha!

I was totally speechless when I came to notice the waist guard armor and the groin guard area. The carefully designed area simply enhances the overall character design. For that, Tamashii really deserve a round of applause.

The Back

Firstly before I begin, I strongly urge you to calm the f*** down while you are at it, I repeat, calm the f*** down. This is because, not just one scarf but two scarves are readily to cause a really good pain in the ass when you are trying to mount them on. Parental guidance is off the limits, just imaging from who you inherited your short-temperedness from? And parents will never fail to make things worse. Especially so when it comes to things they don’t know how to appreciate.

Well, I can say that the gradient color for the scarf is considered well done. Just that I feel that the machine could have done it in a better way than smudging my model all the time. Sigh…

Once the scarves are in, the super tightness in the ball joints gives the scarves a chance to move up and down for posing purposes. The design of the scarves gives two possible ways of posing the figurine – one, the scarves act like a drop-down against gravity, simple and easy. Two, the scarves when lifted up or to either one side (depending on whatever pose you desire), gives a wind-blowing effect.

Somehow, it looks flat. Or was it just my problem? I can’t fault Tamashii for this because I have never seen the back of Nasca in the show before. Ahaha! To be serious, if the lines are more distinguished (for example, the depths are being highlighted black or something), it would have left a different impression.

And the butt area looks a bit too big for its own good…

The Upper Limb

One thing I really need to point out now would be the shoulder pads, the part where there is a piece of it protruding out towards the chest area, while being amazed by how it is done (to follow as close as possible to that from the show) the protruding part is very delicate and prone to damages (especially when you have elephant fingers like someone), so please be extra careful when you are twisting and turning. The articulation at the shoulder area is somewhat limited due to the protruding part. So much to sacrifice for the sake of detailing…


The right arm has a different design from the left arm. For the right arm, the forearm gauntlet gives it a very “strong and firm” feeling. What I am trying to say is that the design and detailing of the arm makes it presentable, everything looks in place. And it looks deadly too! Anyone who’s caught within the right arm will without a doubt end up like a drama gone wrong…


As for the left arm, the forearm gauntlet detailing is very much into place. The orange “bird-like” design gives it a very mysterious look and the best of all, it is protruding out and adding on to well presented depth of the forearm arm. Just that if you notice, only the top part is painted orange, I was hoping that the sides can be painted too.

The Leg

Had I not watch the show, I will start to wonder why this guy has elephant thighs. It probably looked big here in proportionate to the rest of the lower limb but in real life it is JUUUUUST nice. Trust me on this, for once.

And the crisp effect on the clothing is really a turn on. Erm, yeah maybe there is a better choice of words but I find it sexy. Powerful legs! And the best part is, the articulation works great despite the size of the thighs! Hoho!

However, having said that, posing-wise this model can have a hard time doing so. Good luck with that, I guess.

The Accessories

This release comes with a very pleasing number of accessories:
1. A pair of opened hands (both left and right).
2. A pair of weapon holding hands (right hand is currently on the figurine).
3. A pair of clenching hands (both left and right).
4. A pair of relaxed hands (both left and right).
5. Two scarves (currently on the figurine).
6. One Nasca’s signature sword.

The silver linings on the Nasca Sword have a rather solid shinny effect, providing a plus point to the overall detailing of the weapon in its finest form. And the length of the sword is puuuur-fect! I love~

It is also very sturdy unless you want to try anything funny.

SURPRISE!!!

Some may not notice but as brilliant as I am (as well as Tamashii), I spotted Fuuto kun on the box! You can find him when you open the box from the right side!

I LOVE Fuuuuuuuu-to kun!

Conclusion

The most unsatisfying area, for me, would only be the blotch on the head and the scarves. Then again, the overall finishing for the entire figurine makes these mishandlings somewhat moderate. And being kind and gracious, I don’t mind sending the figurine in to get it repainted.

Posing-wise, this figurine has a bit of a balancing problem because of the leg area. However, the detailing (crisp on the clothing) adds on so much to the point, again, I don’t mind putting in the extra effort to support the entire figurine.

On a very personal level, I love the design of this character and admire the ideal this character held on so tightly in the show. And this, the quality of the character, actually made me want to own a copy of this release no matter what. That’s me.


I DON’T CARE WHETHER THERE IS A HOLE IN MY POCKET!

Yeah, like real…

Haha! Happy Lunar New Year to all my friends and family once again! And thank you for reading! Tata~

~Tulcus

About Tulcus

Under normal circumstances, I am just an ordinary dude...

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Nasca Dopant, Reviews, S.H.Figuarts, Villain. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment