Daily Archives: August 3, 2011

Review: S.H.Figuarts Super Sentai Shinkenger Kuroko

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I probably mentioned it in one of my regular updates. I don’t know why I bought them but I am really happy to have bought Kuroko and add them to my collection since I intend to collect the whole series of S.H.Figuarts Super Samurai Sentai Shinkenger.

Kuroko is a traditional stagehand in Japanese theatres. They would dress in black and help out the main crews as a stage runner. And in Super Samurai Sentai Shinkenger, the Kuroko are a group of commoners who wish to help in fighting the Gedoushu (aka Monsters), however due to the fact that they lack of Mojikara (aka powers to fight against the monsters), they act as support to help the Shinkengers (aka the main casts) so that the Shinkengers are able to better focus on the battle. Their duties vary from doing house chores to helping the people in the city and from preparing the Shinkengers to battle to evacuating the people away from the monsters.

High respects for them!

First Impression

Initially, I didn’t think of getting them since all it does is just squatting there and doing nothing. And it is not exactly cheap, you see…

But I kinda like it as time goes by simply because it is a very solid release. The quality of the plastic is definitely worth the price. The level of detailing is also worth the praise.

The Head

As much as I wished that the cloth covering the face is made of real cloth, however, everything is made of plastic. It works out just fine since you are not supposed to see the Kuroko’s face in order to imply that they are invisible and are not part of the action onstage.

And if Bandai were to do it, they would have to paint a face on each Kuroko which would result in a rise in the cost.

If you aren’t convinced, take a look at the ears. They are nicely detailed! Kudos!

You can also see the neck. Up to this point, this figurine is insanely humanoid!

The Body

As the Kuroko is in a squatting position. The body is slightly bent forward. In this case, Bandai really did a great job in emphasising the “humbleness” of the Kuroko that they are of lower status. I can sense that even though they are like servants, they still have backbones, if you know what I mean. And as I said, that makes me respect them even more.

There are no articulations since it is made up of a piece of plastic moulded together.

The Belt (aka Obi)

The back of the figurine is nicely done too. I love the detailing of the Obi. This is definitely a plus point for the entire figurine. Imagine if you were to pose this figurine with its back facing the front, it will be equally nice.

*For reference sake, I reposted this picture.

The Upper Limb

While the right hand is resting on the knee, it forms a cap on the knee (taking the shape of the knee) which makes the hand looks very natural. Same goes to the left hand. It gives me the impression that the Kuroko is only placing it on the lap giving the Kuroko a very respectful look.

I wouldn’t mind if this Kuroko breaks a plate or two, I will definitely forgive him…

The right sleeve looks a little bit unnatural. It looks like it is defining gravity and is inclining towards the right. This is especially so if you look it from the front. But then, that’s just a minor problem.

My real issue lies with the fingers. They look a little bit blocky to me. The absences of the knuckles are probably the cause. And there are no fingernails. Then, I would expect lines to be painted and hairs to be visible… Dear me…

The fingers, they are annoying me…

The Leg

Beautifully done. The legs are very natural and proportionate. Bandai even bothered to add details to the shoes. The area above the ankles is nicely sculpted! I wish they can do more on the foot because it looks like a job done in a rush.


And below, there is a printed text under the right foot. The left knee and toes are flat too. Can’t be blame since the Kuroko needs the balance to squat down.

The Accessories

I definitely consider this as an accessory simply because the figurine itself is already a bonus. But then, I would really appreciate if Bandai includes a flag in this release since it is not exactly cheap.

This is way too cheapo. I won’t even bother cutting the flag out from behind the box. Maybe I will just refer to the scale and make a copy my own. Using real cloth, of course.

Conclusion

Kuroko is a very nice add-on to your collection if you are a Shinkenger fan like me. It makes your collection feels complete. And it is nice to have these guys around simply because they appear a lot in the show and are part of the show itself. In fact, there is an episode done specially to introduce the Kuroko and to appreciate their efforts.

Not asking you to get one for each Shinkenger because you will find yourself having six Kuroko doing nothing but squatting there. And as far as I know, in the show, it is true that there are lots of them running around, I only saw two Kuroko standing one at each side.

So for me, I do recommend that if you are getting Kuroko, you should get two of them. I got them at a very reasonable price because the boss is trying to get rid of them. I wish you have got the same luck as me.


Meanwhile, please excuse me while I get obsessed with the popping of bubble wraps. Love it!

*pop pop pop*

Oh yeah! Thank you for reading!

~Tulcus